P#2 Wildflowers in Darkness

The sun in my eyes.
It hurt.
My mother told me,
“Don’t look at it.“

I kept looking.

My eyes closed, they watered so much.
Sun spots bloomed.
Wildflowers in darkness.
They Changed. Grew. Faded.

The sun blinded me.
I saw nothing else.
But new, beautiful colors.

I looked at the sun.
I grew older.
I looked.
Older still.
I looked.

Then Somewhere. Sometime. I stopped.

The pain hurt.
But the thought of it hurt more.
Just thoughts… whispers…
 
Today hurts far more than Yesterday.
Tomorrow will hurt far more than Today.

I knew they were there.
The Wildflowers in the Darkness.
I could reach for them if I wanted.

But Somewhere. Sometime.
In between growing up, I
Changed. Grew. Faded.

Now I’m just afraid.

Author: xenia

Xenia (Greek: ξενία, xenía, trans. "guest-friendship") is the ancient Greek concept of hospitality, the generosity and courtesy shown to those who are far from home and/or associates of the person bestowing guest-friendship.

Leave a Reply

